The Connecticut 6 Classic is a six-team event that includes Central Connecticut State University, Fairfield University, University of Hartford, Quinnipiac University, Sacred Heart University, and Yale University. The first Classic took place at the Arena at Harbor Yard on November 13, 2009. Following the inaugural Classic, the event moved to Mohegan Sun Arena for the 2010 and 2011 campaigns.

The 2012-13 season marked the first time that the Connecticut 6 Classic moved to a campus site as the University of Hartford hosted the event. In 2013-14, Fairfield University will serve as the host at Webster Bank Arena in Bridgeport, Conn.

The original concept for the Connecticut 6 Classic was brought forward by Tom McCain, publisher of Connecticut Sports Magazine in 2003. After working together over the next five years, athletics directors and head coaches were able to clear their schedules, giving state basketball fans an opportunity to watch six Division I programs on one given night.

The schools have committed to the Classic through the 2014 season with future pairings already established. The results for the previous Classics are below:

 Tournament Results

November 9, 2013 - Webster Bank Arena

Quinnipiac 82, Hartford 77 Recap
Yale 93, Central Connecticut 77 Recap
Fairfield 67, Sacred Heart 54 Recap
November 12, 2012 - Chase Arena  
Quinnipiac 65, Hartford 61 Recap
Sacred Heart 85, Yale 82 OT Recap
Fairfield 64, Central Connecticut 63 OT Recap
November 11, 2011 - Mohegan Sun Arena  
Fairfield 72, Quinnipiac 60 Recap
Sacred Heart 70, Hartford 50 Recap
Yale 73, Central Connecticut 69 Recap
November 13, 2010 - Mohegan Sun Arena  
Fairfield 62, Sacred Heart 45 Recap
Central Connecticut 64, Hartford 62 Recap
Quinnipiac 84, Yale 75 Recap
November 13, 2009 - Arena at Harbor Yard  
Sacred Heart 92, Yale 86 Recap
Fairfield 67, Central Connecticut 58 Recap
Quinnipiac 85, Hartford 74 Recap


View: Mobile | Desktop